Design Inspiration #239

Design Inspiration from Make my lemonade, World Chess, Need/Want, Lockitron, and U.S Air Force! Design Inspiration is a weekly post that showcases examples of some of the best new web design from around the internet. Make my lemonade http://makemylemonade.com World Chess http://worldchess.com Need/Want http://needwant.com Lockitron https://lockitron.com U.S Air Force https://www.airforce.com

Continue reading...

Trailblazer – A New Architecture For Rails [Review]

I really love the foundational philosophy of Ruby on Rails. The framework provides a wealth of amazing tools to help you build better applications, quicker, all whilst making the process incredibly fun and rewarding. When you create a new Rails project, you can have a fully functional Minimal Viable Product in a very short amount […]

Continue reading...

Using the Pipe Operator in Elixir

In last week’s tutorial we looked at defining functions and modules. Elixir is a functional programming language and so defining small and concise functions is a big part of the philosophy of the language. A function should have a single concern, and so testing functions becomes really easy. In functional languages, you will often want […]

Continue reading...

Design Inspiration #238

Design Inspiration from Naked, Vitalmonitor, Museum of Science and Industry, Hello Trio, and Smart Bedding! Design Inspiration is a weekly post that showcases examples of some of the best new web design from around the internet. Naked https://naked.fit Vitalmonitor http://www.vital-monitor.com Museum of Science and Industry http://www.msichicago.org Hello Trio http://hellotrio.com Smart Bedding http://smartbedding.com

Continue reading...

Working with CSVs in Ruby

When it comes to transferring data around between applications, there are basically two methods that you come across again and again. If the application has an API you might be able to work with JSON or XML. This usually makes working with data from other applications fairly easy. However, often the only way to get […]

Continue reading...

Working with Functions and Modules in Elixir

Elixir is a functional language and so as you would expect, Functions play an important role when developing Elixir applications! Typically in applications written in a functional language you will see lots of little functions that act on data. In today’s exploration of Elixir, we’re going to be looking at defining Functions and how we […]

Continue reading...

Design Inspiration #237

Design Inspiration from Stitch Fix, Katz, Compliments, Tassuru, and Batch! Design Inspiration is a weekly post that showcases examples of some of the best new web design from around the internet. Stitch Fix https://www.stitchfix.com Katz http://katz.lv Compliments http://compliments.dk Tassuru http://tassuru.com Batch https://batch.com

Continue reading...

Zero to One [Review]

The premise of Zero to One is to be a guide for building companies that create new things. Whilst the world is copying the great technology companies of today through globalisation, the next great technology company will not look like Microsoft, Apple, Google, or Facebook. When you copy something that already exists you are going […]

Continue reading...

Working with Keyword Lists and Maps in Elixir

So far in this introduction to Elixir we’ve looked at Strings, Tuples, and Lists. Another common type that you will find in many different programming languages is the associative data structure. Associative data structures go by a couple of different names depending on the language. You might also know them as associative arrays, hashes or […]

Continue reading...

Design Inspiration #236

Design Inspiration from Will Global, Lingo, Peel, Vultr, and Atom Bank! Design Inspiration is a weekly post that showcases examples of some of the best new web design from around the internet. Will Global http://will.global Lingo https://www.lingoapp.com Vultr https://www.vultr.com Peel http://buypeel.com Atom Bank https://www.atombank.co.uk

Continue reading...